Click here to view larger image

Allman Brothers Band
Hartford, CT 8/30/09

 E-mail this product to a friend


For the final show of the Northeast leg of the Allman Brothers/Widespread Panic tour, both bands left it all on stage! After a great Panic set that featured sit-ins by both Derek and Warren, the ABB rocked the crowd in Hartford with a memorable show full of highlights.

The opening 1-2 punch of "Trouble No More" and "Can't Lose What You Never Had" showed Gregg roaring like the lion of the blues. Mr. Allman was in fine voice all night and stole the show several times. He has never sounded better!

There have been many great guest performances on this tour, with members of both bands sitting in with each other frequently. This version of "Les Brers in A Minor" with Jimmy Herring may be the best of the bunch, a thrilling performance with Jimmy hittin' the note! The ABB had a little help from their friends on this version of "You Don't Love Me" as well, with keyboardist "JoJo" Hermann and percussionist "Sunny" Ortiz from Panic sitting in, as well as Max Creek guitarist Scott Murawski. The special guests give this hard-hitting version a HUGE sound!

This show finished off with a 3fer of famous ladies. "Desdemona" has become a modern ABB classic in a few short years, combining bluesy vocals and jazzy jamming into a uniquely Allmanesque creation, and this one cooks! "Jessica" was given an expansive treatment at this show, including a drum segment and a unique jam with Derek, Oteil and the drummers, before returning to the theme for a big finish.

"Melissa" finished off the "Ladies Night" segment with Gregg baring his soul for the crowd in an intimate display that shows why he is one of the all-time great vocalists. The second encore of "Statesboro Blues" was the cherry on the sundae and sent the crowd home smiling!

Disc One

1. Trouble No More (3:50)
2. Can't Lose What You Never Had (5:41)
3. No One To Run With (10:44)
4. Les Brers In A Minor (15:17) $
5. Leave My Blues At Home (7:02)
6. Stage Banter (0:27)
7. Soulshine (6:59)
8. Announcement (1:21)
9. You Don't Love Me (12:34) %
10. Into The Mystic (5:12) &

Disc Two

1. Desdemona (12:05)
2. Jessica (10:37)
3. JaMaBuBu (11:40)
4. Jessica - reprise (5:02)
5. Crowd Noise (3:09)

Encore: 6. Melissa (5:45)
               7. Statesboro Blues (5:35)

$ = w/Jimmy Herring, guitar
% = w/ "JoJo" Hermann, keyboards; Sunny Ortiz, percussion; Scott Murawski, guitar
& = w/ Sunny Ortiz, percussion; James Van De Bogert, drums

SKU: CD508
Price: $25.00