Click here to view larger image

Click here to view larger image

Allman Brothers Band
40th Anniversary DVD
Beacon Theatre, 3-26-09

 E-mail this product to a friend


Of the 700 plus shows that HTN has attended, this is the very best one, period.  The anticipation in the audience was unbelievable and you know how this band responds to their fans.  They played their hearts out, pure and simple.  The Allman Brothers Band - Hittin' the Note like no other night!

Here are a few paragraphs of the liner notes, written by John Lynskey, Editor of HTN:

40: A milestone by any definition. For people, they say life begins at 40, but for almost any band, the expiration date has long since come and gone by that point. Only a select few rock groups have had the talent, endurance and knack for survival to reach that magic number; in 2009 the Allman Brothers Band achieved the elite two-score status, and that moment is captured on 40, which preserves the group’s historic performance on March 26, 2009.

The current band decided to honor the original six by playing the group’s first two albums - The Allman Brothers Band and Idlewild South - back to back, track by track.  Like a tiger unleashed from a cage, the band pounced from the opening moment of “Don’t Want You No More/Not My Cross to Bear,” and the power and fury only went up from there. Seven men were playing as one, each feeding off the energy from the others, communicating in a non-verbal, mutually understood musical conversation.

40: A very special number, and this DVD proves why the Allman Brothers Band is a special group indeed. Savor every note of every song, because chances are a band the likes of this one will not come our way again.

Please Note, this DVD is coded Region 1, which is the US and Canada format.

Set 1
1. Don t Want You No More
2. It s Not My Cross To Bear
3. Black Hearted Woman
4. Trouble No More
5. Every Hungry Woman
6. Dreams
7. Whipping Post

Set 2
8. Revival
9. Don t Keep Me Wonderin
10. Midnight Rider
11. In Memory of Elizabeth Reed / Drum solo & bass solo w/Derek
12. Hoochie Coochie Man
13. Please Call Home
14. Leave My Blues at Home

Encore: Statesboro Blues

SKU: DVD40th
Price: $19.98