Click here to view larger image

Click here to view larger image

Allman Brothers Band
Beacon Theatre 10-25-14

 E-mail this product to a friend


The Saturday night Allman Brothers Band show  was dark bluesy yang to Friday's ethereal yin-- the deep dark muddy, down-at-the-crossroads, real live soaked-through blues. 

By “Statesboro Blues” it had become a juke joint dance party. “Woman Across the River” was a receptacle for the low down voodoo; Derek, Warren and Oteil unleashed a furious cascade of hellfire, stampeding into an exclamation point of a finale. It was an early highlight.

“Stormy Monday” was as right as a warm bath; Derek squeezed out sad squirts of happiness over Warren’s elegant chording. "Stand Back"and "Hot 'Lanta" rounded out the set, the band bringing the juju old school.

Gilded Splinters” reaffirmed that this night was an Allman Brothers Band dance party. “Jessica,” a joyous romp, featured tonight's stroll through "Will the Circle Be Unbroken," before Warren flipped the flap jack and we were back to “Jessica” again.

"Into the Mystic" (which the band dedicated to Bill Graham as it was his favorite song) was sublime, and gave way to a potent "Elizabeth Reed" during which Warren brought the band through a cover of "Politician," big, manly, all-Warren, in tribute to Jack Bruce, who'd passed away earlier in the day. Then back to the “Liz Reed” licks, the drum solo, and out the back end, Derek laying out some sugary chording as Warren and Oteil converged, leading into a big crashing sweaty finish.

The encore began with an achingly slow “Come On In My Kitchen,” with Warren laying on the molasses. Then “One Way Out" closed the night out with some more of that old time roadhouse dance party.


1. Don't Keep Me Wonderin' (4:18)
2. Statesboro Blues (4:54)
3. Woman Across the River (8:29)
4. Ain't Wastin' Time No More (7:12)
5. Stormy Monday (8:37)
6. Dusk Til Dawn (9:51)
7. Stand Back (5:59)
8. Hot 'Lanta (5:57)


1. Midnight Rider (3:36)
2. I Walk on Gilded Splinters (6:48)
3. Jessica (14:27)
4. Trouble No More (3:58)


1. Into the Mystic (9:32)
2. In Memory of Elizabeth Reed (14:13)
3. Politician (Cream) (5:12)
4. JaMaBuBu (6:42)
5. In Memory of Elizabeth Reed - reprise (2:23)
6. Come On in My Kitchen (5:38)
7. One Way Out (6:55)

SKU: CD774
Price: $27.00