Click here to view larger image

Click here to view larger image

Allman Brothers Band
Wantagh, NY 8-13-08

 E-mail this product to a friend


Jones Beach has been the site of many great ABB shows over the years, and this one was no exception! An energetic "You Don’t Love Me" opener, followed by "Walk on Gilded Splinters," was a great way to start the show. "Les Brers in A Minor" showed the band flexing their muscles, creating a huge groove for Derek and Warren to solo over, and Ratdog’s Mark Karan added some smoking guitar licks to "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl." It was a very bluesy night for Warren, who sang "Schoolgirl," "The Sky Is Crying," and "The Same Thing."
One really special treat came when Ratdog saxophonist Kenny Brooks, RD keyboardist Jeff Chimenti and legendary jazz drummer Roy Haynes joined the band for a ripping version of "Afro Blue." Fans of the jazzier side of the ABB need to hear this! Scorching solos, dynamic group interplay, it all comes together on this tune. How do you follow that? With a version of "Jessica" that blasts into the stratosphere and reaches the far corners of the cosmos before returning to Earth. This show puts an exclamation point on the return of the ABB. The band is back!



Disc 1
1. You Don't Love Me (7:41)
2. Walk on Gilded Splinters (6:31)
3. Les Brers in A Minor (12:51)
4. Crowd (1:04) 
5. The Sky Is Crying (9:25)
6. Leave My Blues At Home (7:46)
7. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl (13:19) %
8. No One To Run With (11:18)
Disc 2

1. Melissa (6:33)
2. The Same Thing (5:05) &
3. JaMaBuBu (4:36) #
4. Afro Blue (13:53) &
5. Jessica (16:14)
6. Crowd (2:25)
7. One Way Out (7:16)



% w/Mark Karan, guitar 
# w/Roy Haynes, drums
& w/ Kenny Brooks, sax; Jeff Chimenti, keys; Roy Haynes, drums


SKU: CD401
Price: $25.00