Click here to view larger image

Allman Brothers Band
Beacon Theater 3/16/09

 E-mail this product to a friend


At this show the ABB once again paid tribute to Duane Allman by playing with some of his closest musical companions, John Hammond and Bonnie Bramlett. Veteran bluesman Hammond adds lots of grit and soul to his mini-set of blues tunes, including a spectacular version of "Shake For Me" that surely had Duane smiling down from the heavens! Other first set highlights included the first "Desdemona" of the run, with Gregg delivering an amazing vocal performance, and a tight, powerful "Hot'Lanta."

For the second set, it was Ladies Night at the Beacon, led by Bonnie Bramlett of Delaney and Bonnie fame. Her intimate duet with Gregg on "Oncoming Traffic" was one of the highlights of the whole run, and her daughter Bekka contributed some family harmonies to smokin' versions of "Only You Know And I Know" and "Comin' Home." When Hammond joined Bonnie on stage for "Come On In My Kitchen" it created a very special moment. With Susan Tedeschi, Bonnie and Bekka on "The Weight" we got a vocal version of the Allman Sisters Band that was like going to church for gospel hour!  The first "Preachin' Blues" of the run was another reason this show was a special one.

Disc One

1. Statesboro Blues (5:23)
2. Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’ (4:54)
3. Hot ‘Lanta (5:19)
4. Who’s Been Talking (10:11)
5. Stage Banter (0:47)
6. Come and Go Blues (6:31)
7. Desdemona (12:40)
8. Announcements (1:06)
9. So Many Roads (5:46) #
10. Shake For Me (7:21) #            
11. Cryin' For My Baby (5:20) #

Disc Two

1. Announcements (0:50)
2. Oncoming Traffic (
3. Announcements (0:51)
4. Coming Home (3:49) @%
5. You Know And I Know (4:56) @%
6. Come On In My Kitchen (8:03) @#
7. Announcements (0:38)
8. The Weight (8:10) @%&$

Disc Three

1. No One To Run With (11:16)
2. Preachin' Blues (4:46) ^
3. Jessica (19:02)
4. JaMaBuBu (3:17)
5. Jessica - reprise (6:10)

# = w/ John Hammond, guitar and vocals
@ = w/ Bonnie Bramlett, vocals
% = w/ Becca Bramlett, vocals
& = w/ Bruce Katz, piano
$ = w/ Susan Tedeschi, vocals
^ = Just Warren and Derek

SKU: CD455
Price: $27.00