VAT Mode:
   Login     You have 0 item(s) in your Shopping Cart
Main | Cart Home | Shopping Cart | Wish List | Customer Service | Search

Browse By Category

  Browse By Artist

Help & Info

If you would like to place an order by phone, or if you have a question, please call our Atlanta, GA office toll free at 1-888-746-4616 or 770-640-1124, Monday through Friday from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM EST.

Now In: Allman Brothers BandEat a Peach Products → Col. Bruce Hampton & the Quark Alliance - Give Thanks to Chank
Click Here for Song Samples!

Click here to view larger image

Col. Bruce Hampton & the Quark Alliance - Give Thanks to Chank
Click Here for Song Samples!

 E-mail this product to a friend




Get the Flash Player to see this player.

Colonel Bruce Hampton has had more lives than a Hindu cat. With Give Thanks to Chank, the Colonel has done it again, fronting yet another group of stellar musicians and producing his best CD in years.

Guitarist Jeff Caldwell is Bruce’s main foil in the Quark Alliance, and his soulful vocals and fluid guitar lines show he is up to the task. He also wrote about half of the songs on Give Thanks to Chank, from the funky “You Hold Me The Best” to the blue-eyed soul of “It’s Not Over.”

Even so, the Colonel is still the main attraction, and he hasn’t sounded this good since the glory days of ARU. The title track is a down and dirty, testifying chunk of funk, and gets the CD off on the good foot. “Them Dickinson Boys” and “Susan T” are humorous homages to the North Mississippi Allstars and Susan Tedeschi, respectively. “They’re chasing elephants all over Mississippi,” Bruce sings about the Dickinson brothers, and by this time you’re having so much fun you don’t care why. “Threnody To The Victims of Louisiana” ends the CD with an intergalactic guitar instrumental that shows that Bruce still knows how to go WAY out.

The Quark Alliance’s secret weapon is the rock solid rhythm section of bassist Kris Dale and Mark Letalien. Their in-the-pocket, funky grooves keep the Colonel grounded and make this his most accessible band ever, without smoothing out any of the bizarre weirdness that makes him unique. Hampton fans have reason to give thanks: Bruce is back.

 1.  Give Thanks to Chank
 2.  It's Not Over
 3.  Nicole
 4.  Susan T
 5.  I'm Not Listening
 6.  Them Dickenson Boys
 7.  You Hold Me the Best
 8.  The Den Is in Heaven
 9.  All Simplicity
10. Open the Door
11. Talk So Loud
12. Lanerville
13. Threnody to the Victims of Louisana

SKU: CD383
Price: $15.00