VAT Mode:
   Login     You have 0 item(s) in your Shopping Cart
Main | Cart Home | Shopping Cart | Wish List | Customer Service | Search

Browse By Category

  Browse By Artist

Help & Info

If you would like to place an order by phone, or if you have a question, please call our Atlanta, GA office toll free at 1-888-746-4616 or 770-640-1124, Monday through Friday from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM EST.

Now In: NEW STUFF! → Allman Brothers Band
5/22/09 Valley Center, CA

Click here to view larger image

Allman Brothers Band
5/22/09 Valley Center, CA

 E-mail this product to a friend



Another great show in California! This one gets off to a bluesy start with "Statesboro Blues" and "You Don't Love Me," plus a jazzy version of "Who's Been Talking" that lets Derek soar into the stratosphere. The lovely Susan Tedeschi joins the band for her only West Coast guest appearance, on Bob Dylan's "Don't Think Twice, It's Alright."

If you love extended jams, the second half of this show is what you are looking for!  Derek's "New Instrumental" continues to grow into yet another classic ABB instrumental jam, with this tune drawing from Derek's jazz influences. "Black Hearted Woman" is an overwhelming show of force, proving that nobody can deliver raw rock power like the ABB can. "Jessica" is a beautiful conversation between all the band members, as the music ebbs and flows like a river finding its way to the ocean.

Pat Simmons of the Doobie Brothers, who opened for the Allmans at this show, sits in on a raucous "Southbound" encore that put an exclamation point on the evening!

Disc One

Statesboro Blues  5:35
You Don't Love Me  7:04
Who's Been Talking  10:04
Midnight Rider  3:28
Stand Back  6:08
Desdemona  12:00
Don't Think Twice, It's Alright@  5:40
New Instrumental  11:22
And It Stoned Me  5:34

Disc Two

Black Hearted Woman  2:49
JaMaBuBu  10:56
Black Hearted Woman (reprise)  1:20
Jessica  13:54
Crowd Noise  2:52

Encore:  Southbound$  7:44

@ = w/ Susan Tedeschi, guitar and vocals; James Van De Bogert, drums
$ = w/ Pat Simmonds, guitar

SKU: CD474
Price: $25.00