VAT Mode:
   Login     You have 0 item(s) in your Shopping Cart
Main | Cart Home | Shopping Cart | Wish List | Customer Service | Search

Browse By Category

  Browse By Artist

Help & Info

If you would like to place an order by phone, or if you have a question, please call our Atlanta, GA office toll free at 1-888-746-4616 or 770-640-1124, Monday through Friday from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM EST.

Now In: ABB Live Concert CDs2008 → Allman Brothers Band
Atlanta, GA 10-10-08

Click here to view larger image

Allman Brothers Band
Atlanta, GA 10-10-08

 E-mail this product to a friend



A West's Best El Grande selection!

For the first of their two nights at Atlanta's Chastain Park, the Allman Brothers Band gave the exuberant hometown crowd plenty to cheer about! The intense opening trio of "Don't Want You No More/Not My Cross To Bear," "I Walk on Gilded Splinters" and "Statesboro Blues" got the party started, with Gregg's voice sounding strong and powerful. "Revival" was the perfect sentiment for this weekend of music and fellowship, and this version is bursting with joyful noise. Warren got deep into the blues on "The Sky Is Crying," and "Les Brers" finished the first set with a bang!
That was just half the story, of course. Highlights from the second set included a scorching "Stand Back" with Derek tearing up the slide parts and an extended jam on "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl." Warren took the solo on "Dreams" and was very strong all night, both on guitar and vocals.
The high point may have been the spectacular "Mountain Jam," a freewheeling improvisational masterpiece that included teases of everything from Weather Report's "Birdland" to the Beatles' "Norwegian Wood" and Hendrix's "Third Stone From The Sun." Check out Derek's slide playing after the drum break as he soars like an eagle on wings of sound, and marvel at the way he and Warren trade licks back and forth, showing an unparalleled level of chemistry and musical communication. This may be the best "Mountain Jam" of recent years!
Disc 1:
Don’t Want You No More
Cross To Bear
I Walk on Gilded Splinters
Statesboro Blues
Woman Across the River
It Takes a Lot To Laugh It Takes a Train To Cry
Southbound  (with Keith England, vox; The Lee Boys: Roosevelt Collier, 
pedal steel & Earl Walker, drums)
Revival  (with Gary Forkum, drums)
The Sky Is Crying
Les Brers in A Minor
Disc 2:
Trouble No More
Good Morning Little School Girl
Stand Back
Disc 3:
Mountain Jam
One Way Out

SKU: CD420
Price: $27.00